June 3, 2013

  • I love liars.

    I hate the lies they tell.  It's the old, "Love the sinner, hate the sin," thing. To me, lies are terrible, despicable, destructive things, but, to me, nothing is unforgivable, either.  If someone lies to me, and I recognize it as a lie or find out later that it was, it will change our relationship, certainly.  I'll be more cautious with that person, less likely to take anything he says at face value.  In other words, I'm not likely to forget the lie, but I will forgive the liar because hanging onto resentments and grudges is self-destructive.  It makes no sense to pile that on top of the injury caused by the lie.

    Some of the wisest advice I have ever been given was to transcend fear and practice universal unconditional love.  I can discern that this is wise advice, a good idea, in several ways.  The nearer I come to achieving it, the happier and more harmonious I become.  Loving my family and close friends unconditionally has made me happier and made our relationships closer.  It has decreased our conflicts, because the "unconditional" part of it has erased all my expectations.  They don't disappoint me or let me down, and aren't subject to the repercussions that could result if they had.

    In some ways it is easier to love people I know than to love everybody equally, and in other ways it is not so easy.  I can relax into a state of just loving the whole universe, impartially, dispassionately, as somewhat of an abstraction.  That's not so easy to achieve with people with whom I have regular contact, conflicting interests, different ideas, etc.  In my family, we're always stepping on each other's toes, rubbing each other the wrong way, misunderstanding what is said.  To stay in a loving frame of mind here requires mindfulness and willingness to forgive.  I seem to be able to manage that more readily with my family and friends than I am, say, for example, politicians in general and Republicans in particular.

     

Comments (9)

  • sorry to hear about greyfox - hope you're persevering well - wish i had time and motivation to blog like i used to, but i haven't - things change

    be well

  • At least with politicians it's easy to spot... their lips were moving, they were lying.

  • of course i remember you. : )   enthralled i was when i read you and learned about your life in alaska, not the normal way but a really good different way of life you lead up there. got your fbk friend request and i'm honored. i shall respond, when i get back over there. i don't really spend much time blogging here anymore, or even commenting much at fbk. but i don't want to lose my friends i have made along the way here at xanga. thank you for the request.
    now, to read your post. ~ lea

  • unconditional love. something to strive for, when humanly possible. love this whole post. i can identify with SO much of this. most all of it, actually. especially the stepping on family's toes and those horrid republicans, ha. see you at the fbk. <3

  • Love this post.  You articulate so much better than I can the goals I have for myself, too. Who knows, maybe the seeds were planted when I started reading your posts.  I've been consciously working toward this same way of being and relating to others for many years now, and while my progress seems slower than a glacier, I have made progress, and noticed the rewards in my own piece of mind.  I love the perspective you bring to the page. 

  • @pyramidtermite - I'm not blogging much, and not really wishing I were... apathy, maybe.  However, it is good to "see" you again.
    @saturnnights - LOL
    @be_the_rain - Did the FB request go through?  I tried to friend a bunch of Xangans, got bumped to the sign-in page, had to cancel my requests to get back in.
    @ItzaRoos - Thanks for the props, and for some odd reason, it is feeling really good to be spending time on Xanga again.

  • @SuSu - yes, actually, it did. i see you there. : )   "leneen (lea) blansett" on fbk.

  • @ItzaRoos - debbie, hello!!! LOOOONNG time!! <3

  • @ItzaRoos - (second comment, of course. remember those?) how in heck are you?

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *