June 19, 2013

  • True Love and True Happiness

    For more than half of my lifetime, while doing psychic readings for people all over the planet, I have answered thousands of questions about love.  I also answered questions about money and a lot of other subjects, but love was the issue uppermost in most of my clients’ minds.  The readings did not come from me.  They came through me.  Sometimes, I recorded readings I did in person.  When my medium was written words, I always read what I had written.  Going back over them, some things I said or wrote were new ideas to me, or different, unusual takes on old ideas. 

    I probably learned more from those readings in the aggregate than all my clients combined.  Someone receiving a piece of information that way might tend to think of it as peculiar to him or herself, of little universal significance.  For me, channeling the same information and advice time after time to a wide variety of people, I caught on to the universal significance of what I was saying.  When I started associating with other psychic weirdos like me, they reinforced those universal verities.  Consequently, I went from being a generally unhappy, emotionally needy seeker of wisdom and truth, to a happy and loving seeker of wisdom and truth.

    Quoting myself here:

    “We set ourselves up for disappointment when we try to trade love or anything else such as money, flattery, service or power, for love.  Loving can hurt unless you love unconditionally.  If you ask anything at all from those you love, you’re likely to ask for things that those you love will not or cannot give.  If you let that stop you from loving, you lose and everyone loses.

    “The experience of loving without needing anything in return is a great feeling.  It is a higher octave of love.  Love is a form of energy.  By radiating it out, we establish a flow of it that enriches, enlightens and empowers us, and brings us together with ALL.” (Unconditional Love FAQ)

    I now know that love and happiness, to be the real true things themselves, must come from within.  We don’t fall into, find, earn or buy LOVE.  If you “fall in love,” it’s probably limerence.  That kind of love is often a euphemised manifestation of the biological reproductive imperative, and it can be complicated by attachment disorders.  There’s nothing wrong with the mating urge in itself.  It’s a useful mechanism for perpetuating the species, but when it hits someone whose infancy and childhood weren’t conducive to healthy bonding, it might not last long enough to ensure that the offspring have the care and protection of both parents through childhood and adolescence.  In successful, long-lasting pair bonds, somewhere along the way at least one of the partners does some real loving.

    That’s what love is:  something we DO.  It is a choice: choosing to BE loving, to DO love.  We can choose to aim it in a tight beam at one individual, who may or may not appreciate being the focus of such a beam.  We can spread it out to family, friends and those with whom we share bonds of kinship, philosophy, or whatever, or we can broadcast it to the universe at large.  The supply is unlimited.  The more I love, the more I can love.  If you feel you’re loving too much, you’re probably not loving at all.

    Happiness has some things in common with love.  The best kind, the real stuff, comes from within.  It is a choice.  It doesn’t need a reason to be.  Unconditional happiness, being happy for no reason at all, is about as joyous as life gets.  I highly recommend it.

     

     

Comments (2)

  • That was beautiful and inspiring. Most of what you write brings an image to my mind. As a child I used to visit an aunt and uncle who lived in Alaska. I remember walking along worn path that was shadowed by tall birch trees. Faint glimmers of sunlight beat through the leaves as I walked. The day was bright, cloudless. When I read here that is what I think about, a bright clear moment in the sun. I hope if you are not finding your way to WordPress then you will let me know where else you will be inspired to write. 

  • Good post. Think of all the songs on the radio with love in the title or love in the lyrics. We love to talk about love, or what we think it is. It can come naturally, but keeping it is a decision. Our house is filed with people who love each other, friends, family, extended family… I love em all! I love you too! Nice to see you back.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *