September 18, 2007

  • Insurance

    Excuse me.  Right here at the start, I beg you to forgive any incoherence, venom, bias, or other unpleasantness in the following rant.  This essay has been inspired by a convergence of several factors, including:

    • Illness:  I am experiencing a severe exacerbation of M.E., myalgic encephalomyelitis / chronic fatigue immunodysfunction syndrome.  This is an internationally recognized disorder, with established diagnostic and treatment protocols agreed upon by leading physicians in Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia and the Americas.  Despite the facts that a growing number of U.S. physicians are aware of M.E., and some of them even attended the international symposium that recommended the name, M.E. and the new protocols, to replace previous diagnoses such as, "fibromyalgia," and the ineffective and/or harmful treatments previously used, governmental agencies in the U.S. refuse to recognize it.
    • Politics:  Hillary Clinton, and reportedly all of the other major Democratic candidates with the lone exception of Barack Obama, are proposing to make health insurance mandatory.  The insurance industry is reportedly one of the primary reasons that NIH and CDC refuse to recognize the M.E. symposium's protocols and persist in the obsolete terminology and treatments.   It is widely accepted among the patient community, in online forums and blogs, that insurers and the "health" industry do not want to face the expense that would result if the magnitude of the problem was acknowledged, our true levels of disability were recognized, and M.E. patients began receiving appropriate treatment.
    • Hypocrisy:  Call it "spin" or PR if you like, but the public face of the insurance industry is as cynically hypocritical as any other business, and more so than most.  I recall when Blue Cross called their policies "hospitalization insurance."  When Blue Shield came along to cash in on the fears of those who thought their illness might not be serious enough to require hospitalization, they called it "medical insurance."  The marketing genius who was inspired to lump them together and call them "health insurance," as if one could, by paying for medicine and hospitalization, ensure health, deserves martyrdom, at the very least.  Let's not even get into what HMOs are actually devised to maintain.  Doctors don't like them; patients don't like them.  To find anyone who does like them you have to follow the money.
    • Psychology:  I know people who have used their insured vehicles as weapons or battering rams, who would have found some other way to vent their anger if they hadn't had the insurance.  I also know people who don't bother to take responsibility for their own physical wellbeing because they have "health insurance" to do it for them.  Never mind all the statistics detailing iatrogenic illness, mistaken diagnoses, inappropriate treatment, medication errors in hospitals, and the hardy poison-resistant strains of microorganisms that live mostly in hospitals until some unlucky patient happens to carry one out into the population.  Given the illusory benefits sold with insurance policies, most people are content to ignore their nutritional needs and the deleterious effects of some of their habits and addictions, relying on medicine for things that medicine cannot provide.
    • Metaphysics:  This might just be a subhead of "psychology," but the point is that when one buys insurance, one is in effect betting against oneself.  The only legitimate way to get a return on the investment is to lose, to suffer, to fall victim to whatever peril impelled one to buy the insurance in the first place.  "Energy flows where attention goes."

    There!  Got that off my chest.  Now I realize that I've been giving this way too much of my precious time, attention and energy.  I had intended to include a few more points, such as economics, but I think I'd be better served to pay more attention to my breathing... in... and out... and in again.

Comments (9)

  • You know, I'd never thought of it like that...

  • You're so fecking brilliant sometimes ... it STILL stuns me.- - -
    If they're gonna make it mandatory, they better damn well make it free.

  • Right fecking on.Clinton has betrayed her own ideals from back in the '90s. Someone bankrolled her, and she sold out.

  • Take care of yourself.

  • - it's that betting against yourself thing that hangs me up.  I don't pay for insurance for myself although I'm grateful that we have it for the boys. 

  • Insurance companies of all varities are evil.  Hate them.  Necessary evil, however.   :(   I mean... I can't imagine what would've happend if my stepmom wouldn't have bought a cancer insurance policy many moons ago... her 6 month, fatal bout with leukemia cost around $700,000...

  • Necessary evil indeed.
    Sometimes in spite of our best efforts, stuff happens: broken bones, illnesses, that flu bout that everyone has and happens to land on you and you have had no insurance to cover such emergencies. 
    My triple reduction fracture of the left ankle cost over $40grand.  I had a heart "incident" and that was only $30grand for 2 days in the cardiac ward and I filed bankruptcy to get out from under that huge bill or we would still be paying for it 'til now.  I cried to my husband to take me home after the ambulance took me to the ER 'cause I knew the bill would be huge and we had no money back then and still don't.
    I am also diabetic and was told long time ago, that I am "uninsurable" at any cost.  Well, gee thanks.  I told my husband when the time comes that I have an incurable illness to divorce me and let the state pay for it.  We all die sometime and I would rather not have my legacy to my family be a ginormous bill after my death.
    I worked for many doctors over the years and handled their insurance claims.  Universal insurance would be a blessing for all of us who have been deemed uninsurable only if the goverment pays for it.  Otherwise, I still don't see how anyone can afford it these days.  Last time I was eligible for insuring, I was quoted a cost of $600 a month for basic coverage with a $2k deduct. and that was several years ago. 
    Thanks for the vent.  I needed that.
    Blessings!

  • I’m flattened by your contents keep up the excellent work.whole life insurance quotes online

  • Your blogs are easily accessible and quite enlightening so keep doing the amazing work guys.Wisconsin homeowner insurance

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *